Nordost Blog Google+ Icon facebook  logo twitter logo

REVIEWS

NORDOST Tyr 2 Review in Deutsch
NF- UND LAUTSPRECHERKABEL NORDOST TYR2 — DIREKTE VERBINDUNG
Auf den Punkt gebracht Die Tyr2-Kabel stellen in der Tat eine direkte Verbindung zwischen Musik und Hörer her. Getreu dem Motto „Die kürzeste Verbindung zwischen zwei beliebigen Punkten ist eine Gerade“ klingen sie absolut „straight“. Famos! . . .
Publication:
HIFI-STARS
Issue / Date:
Ausgabe 36, September – November 2017
Reviewer:
Wolfgang Vogel
Language:
Deutsch (German)
NORDOST SPEKTAKULÄRA SUPERKABLAR THifi & Musik Review - May, 2017
NORDOST SPEKTAKULÄRA SUPERKABLAR
Högtalarkablar lever farligt. De har ett rätt knivigt jobb jämfört med de lugna arbetsbetingelserna för lågnivåkablar med sina väl definierade impedanser och signalnivåer. Där kan signalöverföringen göras hyggligt förlustfri.  För högtalarkablarna är det precis tvärt om. Här är det mer som hela havet stormar med svajig högtalarimpedans .  . . .
Publication:
Hifi & Musik
Date:
May 2017
Reviewer:
Mats Meyer-Lie
Language:
Svenska (Swedish)
NORDOST HiFi Stars Tyr 2 Review 2017
NETZKABEL NORDOST TYR2 – VON GROSSER BEDEUTUNG
In Top-Anlagen ist das Netzkabel „Nordost Tyr2“ von großer Wirkung – ganz so, als habe da je- mand den Stromhahn erstmals richtig aufgedreht: Hoch- und höchstwertigen Stereokombinationen verleiht es das letzte „Etwas“ an Energie und Finesse – je besser die Gerätezusammenstellung, desto mehr lebt die Musik . . .
Publication:
HIFI-STARS
Issue / Date:
ISSN 1867-5166 Ausgabe 34 März 2017- Mai 2017
Reviewer:
Wolfgang Vogel
Language:
Deutsch (German)
Nordost Blueheaven Headphone Cable
NORDOST TYR 2 CABLE SYSTEM REVIEW
The Nordost’s performance continued to improve past the 120-hour break-in to the extent that not only the bottom-end held more definition, the midrange to top-end became opened up and provided more detail as well. Rendition of the choir singing in the FIM K2 HD edition of the audiophile-standard Proprius . . .
Publication:
Dagogo
Issue / Date:
December 2016
Reviewer:
Constantine Soo
Nordost's Frey 2 Speaker Cable and Interconnects  Review - August 2016
NORDOST FREY 2 SPEAKER CABLE AND INTERCONNECTS – EVOLVING AND IMPROVING
Recently upgraded, Frey 2 cable is the sweet-spot wire of Nordost’s mid-priced Norse 2 collection. In truth it’s actually only one player in a much larger bloodline that, in its complexity, begins to resemble the competing factions in Game of Thrones—the addictive HBO series overflowing with in- trigue, swords, and sex. And like . . .
Publication:
the absolute sound
Date:
September 2016
Reviewer:
Neil Gader
Nordost's Frey 2 Hifi & Records Review - August 2016
DIE SEELE DES KLANGS »KABEL-FAMILIE NORDOST FREY 2«
Es gibt eine Beziehung zwischen Klang und Seele. Davon scheint zumindest eine recht neue Gattung unter den eher populär orientierten Sachbüchern überzeugt. In einem von ihnen erzählt die amerikanische Journalistin Perri Knize »die Geschichte einer Leidenschaft«, nämlich die ihre zur Musik und . . .
Publication:
Hifi & Records
Date:
August 2016
Reviewer:
Uwe Steiner
Language:
Deutsch (German)
Nordost's Heimdall 2 4K UHD Cable
HI-FI VIDEO: NORDOST’S HEIMDALL 2 4K UHD CABLE
Through the first twenty years of my life, the greatest change in entertainment technology was the switch from over-the-air TV -- with its grand total of four channels -- to cable, which bestowed all of 24 channels, some from exotic, faraway places like Atlanta and Chicago. Contrast this state of affairs with . . . .
Publication:
The Audio Beat
Date:
April 26, 2016
Reviewer:
Marc Mickelson
Nordost Tonearm
A CLEAR ADVANTAGE — GOING UP THE RANGE WITH NORDOST
Other than fringy room treatments and other various bizarre system tweaks, nothing arouses more anger, controversy and naysaying than the thought of cable, especially premium audio cables. Those subscribing to the religion of ABX testing pretty much claim everything sounds the same and wire is. . . .
Publication:
TONEAudio
Issue / Date:
No.76 March 2016
Reviewer:
TONE Staff
Nordost Norse 2 Tyr 2  Cable Review
OUTFITTING AN AUDIO SYSTEM WITH NORDOST NORSE 2 TYR 2 CABLES AND QRT QBASE POWER DISTRIBUTION
Your system could be comprised of highly capable components but in order to maximize their performance – and deliver the depth and nuances found in live musical performances – you will need to connect them with good quality cables and provide them with clean power.  Nordost has a history dating back to 1991 and. . . . .
Publication:
Canada HiFi
Date:
November 9, 2015
Reviewer:
Suave Kajko
Nordost Norse 2 Tyr 2 Speaker Cable Review
NORDOST NORSE 2  TYR 2 SPEAKER CABLES, INTERCONNECTS, AND POWER CORDS
I didn’t expect to hear much difference in sound quality from the Tyrs, considering both speaker cables were made by the same manufacturer. I hoped for a bit more of everything: some more bass extension, or a cleaner treble; either would have been nice. The last thing I expected was a change in the music’s overall sound. I know: the Tyr 2 speaker cable is twice the price of the Frey -- you’d bloody well better get some improvement. But when I . . . .
Publication:
Soundstage Ultra
Date:
October 15, 2015
Reviewer:
Jason Thorpe
Nordost Heimdall headphone cable review
NORDOST HEIMDALL HEADPHONE CABLE
Nordost. Seems that these days Nordost is everywhere. Norse 2 series? Check. Valhalla 2 series? Check. Odin 2? Check. Headphone cables? Check. HDMI cables? Check. You get my point. All made in America, all made with engineering in mind, all made with guaranteed pride of ownership. Mind you, all of these upgrades to series 2 as well as all the other additions happened over the course of the past 3 years. Wowza. Talk about pace, rhythm, . . .
Publication:
Posi+ive Feedback
Date:
August 3, 2015
Reviewer:
Danny Kaey
Nordost Red Dawn Review
AUDITIONING NORDOST CABLES: DO SPEAKER CABLES HAVE A 'SOUND'?
It's a safe bet that your speaker cables don't look like Nordost's ultra-flat cables. Founded in 1991, Nordost is a high-technology cable manufacturer using conductor technology that was initially developed for the aerospace industry. Nordost designs and builds all of its audio, digital and video cables in its facilities in Holliston, Massachusetts. For this review I'm focusing on Nordost's speaker and headphone cables. . .
Publication:
CNET
Date:
July 25, 2015 
Reviewer:
Steve Guttenberg
Canada HiFi Review
UPGRADING AN AUDIO SYSTEM WITH NORDOST NORSE 2 HEIMDALL CABLE
Heimdall (properly pronounced as “HYM-doll”) is the Old Norse god who vigilantly guards Asgard, the heavenly realm of the mighty Norse gods, including Odin and Thor.  If you’ve seen the Marvel Comics Thor movie series, you’ll recall Heimdall as the austere character that stands guard on the rainbow bridge Bifröst.  What does this have to do with Nordost’s Heimdall 2 Cables, other than the name?  Stay tuned, I’ll come back to it. . .
Publication:
Canada HiFi
Date:
October/November 2014
Reviewer:
George de Sa
Heimdall 2 Headpone Cable Review
NORDOST HEIMDALL 2 HEADPHONE CABLE
In the big picture, 35 years is an insignificant amount of time, but in terms of high-end audio, it’s an eternity. Give or take a year, it was three and a half decades ago that alternatives to lamp cord — like Monster, Kimber, Polk Cobra and Fulton cables — starting stirring the flat-earthers into fits of disbelief at the idea that speaker cables could make any sonic difference — or that anybody might think they could.  Within a couple years, anyone. . .
Publication:
The Audio Beat
Date:
October 8, 2014
Reviewer:
Dennis Davis
Nordost a system of products review
NORDOST - A "SYSTEM" OF PRODUCTS
The online dictionary defines system as: the unity of several elements working together to achieve a goal. Wait, what's that have to do with Nordost? Quite a bit—permit me to explain: over the years, Hi-Fi has seen its share of "systems," Linn, Naim, anyone? Typically, we have associated these system approaches within the context of the entire audio ecosystem, i.e. start to finish, zero to hero approach, most closely associated with those oh so classic British brands. . .
Publication:
Positive Feedback
Date:
Issue 69   September-October 2013
Reviewer:
Danny Kaey
Frey 2 Speaker, interconnects and power cables
NORDOST - FREY 2 SPEAKER CABLES, INTERCONNECTS, AND POWER CABLES
My first proper review for the SoundStage! Network was in 2011, of Nordost’s then brand- new line of Leif cables — specifically, the LS Blue Heaven models. I was so impressed by how significant a change they wrought in my system’s sound that I bought the review samples. Almost three years later, I still make frequent use of the Blue Heavens, as the New England-based company marches onward in its development of some of the world’s finest audio cables. . .
Publication:
SoundStage! Hi-Fi
Date:
March 2014
Reviewer:
Hans Wetzel
Absolute Sound - Nordost Purple Flare Cable - October 2013
NORDOST NORSE CABLES: HEIMDALL 2
Following the revised Leif series (Red Dawn, Blue Heaven et al), Nordost has stepped up the process of revising its line. The Norse series of cables from Nordost, comprising Heimdall, Frey and Tyr, were next, followed more recently by Valhalla 2, which will be the subject of a later review. Sitting below the ‘reference’ Valhalla, V2, and the Odin übercables, the Norse series is still ‘reassuringly’ expensive, and very high performance but, in high-end terms, occupies a rather more accessible price. . .
Publication:
Hi-Fi+
Date:
Issue 106
Reviewer:
Steve Dickinson
HI Fi World - August 2013
CABLES SECTION: THIS MONTH PAUL RIGBY LOOKS AT NORDOST CABLES
"You love 'em or hate 'em. Cables raise some people's hackles, but Hi-Fi World readers tell us repeatedly cables improve their sound and are a great upgrade. So here we are with Loudspeaker cables, interconnects and mains cables, as well as accessories such as connecting blocks in a dedicated section. If you hate 'em - don't look. But if you love 'em you now know where the goodies are.   We will look at affordable products across a single manufacturer's range. . .
Publication:
Hi-Fi World
Date:
August 2013
Reviewer:
Paul Rigby
Norse Series Bi-Wire Jumpers
NORSE SERIES BI-WIRE JUMPERS
Several years ago I had the pleasure to review the recently introduced Frey speaker cables by Nordost. Frey proved to be the finest, most transparent speaker cables I have ever listened to in my system. Unfortunately, even with a manufacturer's discount, the Frey cables were prohibitively expensive. Nevertheless, I soldiered on with my reference single run of Analysis Plus Oval 9 cable. The Oval Nines are very low coloration high value cables. . .
Publication:
Positive Feedback
Date:
Issue 51  Sept/Oct 2010
Reviewer:
Victor Chavira
93 Bartzak Dr.
Holliston, MA 01746
USA
FIND DEALERS AND DISTRIBUTORS arrow